Training for CNAs in Delaware
If you are looking for a healthcare training of high standards, CNA training in Delaware is regarded as a great opportunity to access good quality training programs, allowing you a promising start in the healthcare industry. This state offers a variety of opportunities to establish a successful career in this field.
CNA Training Requirements in Delaware:
- High school diploma or GED.
- Complete an approved CNA program successfully.
- Pass the Delaware competency exam.
- Pass a criminal background check.
- Provide a drug test.
You can access an approved training program in Delaware through vocational and technical schools, community colleges, nursing homes, various healthcare facilities, private schools, hospitals and The Red Cross.
Before enrolling you need to make sure that your chosen program is approved by the state of Delaware (DLTCRP). A CNA class must provide at least 150 hours of training (minimum 75 hours of classroom instruction including laboratory time and 75 hours of clinical skills training in a long term care setting).
After completion of the nurse aide training program, you have to pass Delaware’s competency exam. The training requirements will be waived if you are at the moment enrolled in a nursing program and have completed a Fundamentals or Basic Nursing course with success.
This nursing course must include a 75 hour clinical part in a long term care setting.
The competency test consists of two parts (a written or oral and a clinical skills evaluation). To finally get you license, you need to pass both parts of this exam within a time period of 24 months since completing of an approved training course in Delaware.
If you fail this test three times, you are required to repeat a training program for CNAs in order to be allowed to sit for the exam again.
Your license is valid for 24 months and needs then to be re-certified every two years. To qualify you have to proof that you have done a minimum of 64 hours of CNA related paid work, supervised by a licensed physician or nurse and having completed twenty-four hours of approved continuing education within that certification period.
You will be send a renewal form by Prometric, including instructions approximately 45 days before your certification expires. The certification renewal is free of charge.
If your license has been granted by another state, you can transfer your certification by considering some specific requirements: Your current certificate must be active with a clean record, you must have experienced a minimum of three months of paid CNA work verified by your employer (or have completed a training and competency evaluation program with the number of hours at least equal to that required by the State of Delaware, verified by the training school), and you need to submit a fee of $30 together with a copy of your photo ID.
Employment in the healthcare industry is expected to grow by approximately 20 percent within the next ten years. A successful future for certified nursing assistants looks very promising in this state.
The average wage (depending on experience and training) for a nursing aide varies between $21,510 and $35,470 annually. Based on this facts, it might be a perfect time beginning a long-term healthcare career by considering CNA training in Delaware.
Delaware Social and Health Services
Division of long term care resident protection
3 Mill Rd Suite 308
Wilmington, DE 19806-2164
Delaware Nurse Aide Registry
Approved CNA Training Programs in Delaware
Delaware Board of NursingPrometric